• The Curious Case of the feature that works

    It’s time for another curious case.

    Let’s set the stage first. We all know the great Smooth Roaming feature, right? Well, we should anyway because that feature is shown in demos at any Citrix event known to man.

    There’s also a long-time feature called WorkSpace Control. I won’t get into that and will limit myself to refering to a great article by Bram Wolfs found here: http://bramwolfs.com/2012/10/24/a-deeper-look-into-workspace-control-and-its-challenges/

    I refer to WorkSpace Control because that’s the answer you’re bound to get when presenting the case that I’m about to.

    Now what’s curious about all of this?

    Prior to HRP2 for XenApp 6.5, enabling this setting at the application level:

    Application Limit

    would result to:

    Connection Error

    in this scenario: User A logs on with his credentials from Computer A and launches the application (limited to a single instance). When that same User A logs on Computer B and clicks the application link. A new session would start, but halted soon with the “error” pictured above.

    When the same user does the same with an application that’s published on a XenApp 6.5 server with HRP2… SmoothRoaming kicks in and the application session “switches over” to Computer B.

    So, the feature works great… but what If you do’nt want it to? I’ve come accross several use cases where the customer demands the pre-HRP2 experience aka “error at login”.

    I also didn’t find any reference of this changed behavior in te release notes or any other official Citrix documentation of forum.

    Bottom line: what does one have to do to revert back to the pre-HRP2 state? You guess is as good as mine at this stage. And for those who skipped the intro of this article: WorkSpace Control is not the answer!

    * UPDATE *

    Burried deep inside the release notes, this little note was found:

    On Windows Server 2003, you can specify whether a user can reconnect to a session from any client device or only from the originating client. The From originating client only option is not present anymore in the Remote Desktop Services settings of the Windows Server 2008 R2 edition.

    This feature enhancement allows you to implement the same functionality on Windows Server 2008 R2 through XenApp. To enable the feature, you must set the following registry key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Policies\Citrix
    Name: ReconnectSame
    Type: REG_DWORD
    Data: 1

    Note: To address this issue in its entirety, you must also install a hotfix that contains Fix #LA0874.

    Note that if Workspace Control is enabled on the Web Interface, enabling the “Automatically reconnect to sessions when users log on” feature can result in side effects and users might have to launch the session twice to open a session from the non-originating client device.

    Even though Fix #LA0874 is mentioned, setting this registry key will perform the thrick: no more Smooth Roaming

    , ,





    About Bart Jacobs

    Bart Jacobs is a Senior System Engineer/Consultant based in Belgium. He started his career back in 1998. One of the first projects he worked on in those days was Citrix Metaframe 1.8 on Microsoft Windows NT 4 Terminal Server codename "Hydra". Over the years, Citrix technology has always been a major theme in his professional career, resulting in becoming a true technical expert in the matter. In the last few years, he has also become an expert in virtualization technology, with a special interest in a real challenger in this business: Citrix XenServer. Bart has founded his own company BJ IT back in 2007 and is mainly working as a (Citrix) consultant now. In 2019, Bart received his Citrix CTA award.

    View all posts by Bart Jacobs

    No comments yet.

    Leave a Reply