• Removing Machines from a Personal vDisk Citrix XenDesktop 7.x Machine Catalog

    December 29, 2014

    PVS, XenDesktop, XenServer

    I wrote an article about Adding Machines to a Personal vDisk Citrix XenDesktop 7.x Machine Catalog and received an email asking what is the process to completely undo everything done by the PVS XenDesktop Setup Wizard.  In this article, I will show the process.

    In the original articles Adding Machines to a Personal vDisk Citrix XenDesktop 7.x Machine Catalog and Citrix XenDesktop 7.6, Provisioning Services 7.6 and the XenDesktop Setup Wizard with Write Cache and Personal vDisk Drives, the PvD lab consisted of:

    • Delivery Group (Figure 1),
    • Machine Catalog (Figure 2),
    • Virtual Machines (Figure 3),
    • Target Devices (Figure 4),
    • Device Collection (Figure 4),
    • vDisk (Figure 5), and
    • Active Directory Machine Accounts (Figure 6).
    Figure 1
    Figure 1
    Figure 2
    Figure 2
    Figure 3
    Figure 3
    Figure 4
    Figure 4
    Figure 5
    Figure 5
    Figure 6
    Figure 6

    If an attempt is made to delete the Delivery Group at this point, a warning is given as shown in Figure 7.  You should answer No to the warning popup.

    Figure 7
    Figure 7

    If an attempt is made to delete the Machine Catalog, an error message is given as shown in Figure 8.

    Figure 8
    Figure 8

    I am positive that others have their own process to completely undo the process of the XenDesktop Setup Wizard, this is the process I use and have had no issues.  The process I use is designed to make sure both the XenDesktop Site Configuration database and the PVS farm database have no issues when everything is done.  I am sure others use fewer steps, but hey this is CarlWebster.com, not SomeoneElse.com.

    Step 1 Place the Delivery Group Into Maintenance Mode

    In Studio, click the Delivery Group in the middle pane and then click Turn On Maintenance Mode in the right Actions pane as shown in Figure 9.

    Figure 9
    Figure 9

    Click Yes as shown in Figure 10.

    Figure 10
    Figure 10

    The Delivery Group is placed into maintenance mode as shown in Figure 11.

    Figure 11
    Figure 11

    Step 2 Power Off the Desktops

    Using either the hypervisor or Windows, shutdown the desktops that are in the Delivery Group.  The Windows Shutdown GUI utility (shutdown -i) is shown in Figure 12.

    Figure 12
    Figure 12

    When all desktops are powered off, as shown in Figure 13, continue on with Step 3.

    Figure 13
    Figure 13

     Step 3 Remove Machines from Delivery Group

    Click View Machines in the right Actions pane as shown in Figure 14.

    Figure 14
    Figure 14

    Select all the machines and click Remove from Delivery Groupfrom the right Actions pane as shown in Figure 15.

    Note: What is the difference between Delete and Remove from Delivery Group? Deleting not only removes the machines from the delivery group but deletes the machines from XenDesktop.  That makes the deleted machines no longer available to use. Removing the machines, removes them from the Delivery Group but leaves the machines in XenDesktop so they can be reused in the future if needed.  In other words, that allows you to undo your removal.

    Figure 15
    Figure 15

    Click Yes as shown in Figure 16.

    Figure 16
    Figure 16

    Click on the Delivery Group as shown in Figure 17.  The machines have been removed from the Delivery Group.

    Figure 17
    Figure 17

     Step 4 Delete the Delivery Group

    Click Delete Delivery Group in the right Actions pane as shown in Figure 18.

    Figure 18
    Figure 18

    Click Yes as shown in Figure 19.

    Figure 19
    Figure 19

    The Delivery Group is removed as shown in Figure 20.

    Figure 20
    Figure 20

    Step 5 Delete Machines

    In Studio, click the Machine Catalog and then click View Machines in the right Actions pane as shown in Figure 21.

    Figure 21
    Figure 21

    Select all machines and click Delete in the right Actions pane as shown in Figure 22.

    Figure 22
    Figure 22

    Click Finish as shown in Figure 23.

    Figure 23
    Figure 23

    Click the Machine Catalog, the Machines tab and all machines have been removed from the catalog as shown in Figure 24.

    Figure 24
    Figure 24

    Step 6 Delete Machine Catalog

    Click the Machine Catalog and then click Delete Machine Catalog in the right Actions pane as shown in Figure 25.

    Figure 25
    Figure 25

    Click Finish as shown in Figure 26.

    Figure 26
    Figure 26

    The Machine Catalog is deleted as shown in Figure 23.

    Figure 27
    Figure 27

    Step 7 Delete Active Directory Machine Accounts

    In the PVS console, click the Device Collection, select all Target Devices, right-click, select Active Directory and click Delete Machine Account… as shown in Figure 28.

    Figure 28
    Figure 28

    Click Delete Account as shown in Figure 29.

    Figure 29
    Figure 29

    The Active Directory Machine Accounts are deleted as shown in Figures 30 and 31.

    Click Close.

    Figure 30
    Figure 30
    Figure 31
    Figure 31

    Step 8 Delete Target Devices

    Select all the Target Devices, right-click and click Delete as shown in Figure 32.

    Figure 32
    Figure 32

    Click Yes as shown in Figure 33.

    Figure 33
    Figure 33

    As shown in Figure 34, the Target Devices have been deleted.

    Figure 34
    Figure 34

    Step 9 Delete Virtual Machines

    Use the hypervisor to delete the virtual machines created.

    For XenServer, you can use XenCenter to delete the virtual machines. Select the virtual machines to delete, right-click and select Delete…as shown in Figure 35.

    Figure 35
    Figure 35

    All the virtual machine, write cache and PvD disks are selected.  Click Delete as shown in Figure 36.

    Figure 36
    Figure 36

    As shown in Figure 37, all the selected virtual machines are deleted.

    Figure 37
    Figure 37

    Optional Step 10 Delete the Device Collection

    If you will no longer use the Device Collection, it can be deleted.

    In the PVS console, right-click the Device Collection node to be deleted and select Delete as shown in Figure 38.

    Figure 38
    Figure 38

    Click Yes as shown in Figure 39.

    Figure 39
    Figure 39

    As shown in Figure 40, the Device Collection node has been deleted.

    Figure 40
    Figure 40

    Now you have undone all the work completed by the XenDesktop Setup Wizard.  Your PVS and XenDesktop environment should be back to the state it was in before running the wizard.  The only items left are the original vDisk, Device Collection and Target Device created when the PVS Imaging Wizard was run.

    If you have any questions, please feel free to email me Webster@carlwebster.com

    Thanks

     

    Webster

     

     

     

     

    About Carl Webster

    Webster is a Sr. Solutions Architect for Choice Solutions, LLC and specializes in Citrix, Active Directory and Technical Documentation. Webster has been working with Citrix products for many years starting with Multi-User OS/2 in 1990.

    View all posts by Carl Webster

    No comments yet.

    Leave a Reply